PubNub

Admin Portal How-to: Enabling Persistence

What is Persistence?

Message Persistence (also known as Storage) is a storage service that allows you to persist all messages as they’re published. This service provides real-time access to history for all messages published to PubNub, each time stamped to the nearest 10 nanoseconds and stored across multiple geographical data center locations. The message retention can be configured for several different limited periods or for an unlimited time. Devices can also fetch different types of messages that were published while that device was offline. The Message Persistence feature allows you to delete messages from history, but is only allowed for SDK clients that have been initialized with the secret key.

Follow Along

Watch the video below or follow the step-by-step instructions to learn how to enable Persistence on your PubNub keyset. Need extra information? Check out PubNub’s official documentation on Message Persistence to learn more about how you can implement Storage in your own application.

  1. Login to the Admin Portal.

  2. Click on the apps tab on the left hand side of the portal.

  3. Click on an application. You will be brought to the keysets page for this application.

  4. Click on a keyset. You will be brought to the configuration page for this keyset.

  5. Enable Message Persistence by clicking on the slider to turn it on.

  6. You can leave the default settings for basic applications. However, each setting has a unique and useful purpose:

    1. Retention: Time period for which a message will persist in storage. Messages that are stored are immutable and you can’t change its retention. Changes to storage only apply to messages published after changes have been made.

    2. Enable Delete-From-History: Allow API calls to delete messages from history. This can only be performed for SDK clients that have been initialized with the secret key for the keyset.

    3. Delete Message Webhook: The HTTP(s) endpoint or endpoints when a message is deleted.

    4. Include presence events: When checked, presence events are stored in history.

  7. Click on Save Changes to save these updated changes.